

Board of Education

School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria) 556 Boleskine Road, Victoria, BC V8Z 1E8 Phone (250) 475-4106 Fax (250) 475-4112

Chair: Nicole Duncan Vice-Chair: Karin Kwan Trustees: Natalie Baillaut, Angela Carmichael, Mavis David, Derek Gagnon, Emily Mahbobi, Diane McNally, Rob Paynter

BY E-MAIL: council@saanich.ca

May 1, 2024

District of Saanich 770 Vernon Avenue Victoria, BC V8X 2W7

ATTENTION: Mayor and Council

Dear Mayor Murdock and Council:

RE: Crossing Guard Service Funding

On 11 April 2024 the Board of Education of School District No.61 (Greater Victoria) unanimously passed the following motion:

That the Board of Education of School District No.61 (Greater Victoria) direct the Board Chair to write to the District of Saanich Mayor and Council imploring them to fully fund crossing guards on municipal roads in Saanich in line with the full funding for these services received by all other municipalities in Greater Victoria as well as in line with their obligations of ensuring road safety under the BC Motor Vehicle Act.

Please note that the District of Saanich is the only municipality in Greater Victoria that does not fully fund crossing guard services in partnership with our school district.

As you are likely aware, the Greater Victoria Crossing Guard Association provided crossing guard services with municipal funding support for many years. However, with the Greater Victoria Crossing Guard Association no longer operating, our School District has successfully taken on the role of administering crossing guard service provision, utilizing school district Educational Assistants (EA) staff and supported by municipal funding. Our Board respectfully requests that Mayor and Council provide <u>full funding</u> for the 2024-25 school year on a cost recovery basis.

It is important to acknowledge that since the inception of crossing guard services over 20 years ago, municipalities have continued to commit the funding required to provide these important services. While we appreciate the District of Saanich providing partial funding to support

crossing guard services during the 2023-24 school year, the responsibility for ensuring road safety rests with the District of Saanich not the school district. We welcome our continued partnership for the benefit of student safety; however, we can't continue to cover the shortfall in funding from the District of Saanich.

Currently, Braefoot Elementary, Campus View Elementary, Cloverdale Elementary, Doncaster Elementary, Hillcrest Elementary, Lake Hill Elementary, Marigold Elementary, McKenzie Elementary, Northridge Elementary, Tillicum Elementary, Torquay Elementary, and Lansdowne North Middle require crossing guards at 17 intersections resulting in 18.07 hours per day in EA staffing cost. The following 17 intersections in the District of Saanich have crossing guards: Braefoot: Cedar Hill and Braefoot and Epsom; Campus View: McKenzie and Gordon Head, School driveway on Gordon Head; Cloverdale: Cook and Quadra; Doncaster: Cedar Hill and Rowan, Hillcrest: School driveway on Greentree; Lakehill: Lucas and Morris; Marigold: Burnside and Grange; McKenzie: Pedestrian overpass Raymond N, Raymond N and Margaret; Northridge: Ridgebank Crescent and Carey, Carey crosswalk at school drive-through lane; Tillicum: Burnside and Seaton, Tillicum and Maddock; Torquay: Long Acre and Torquay Drive; and Lansdowne North: Lansdowne and Richmond. We estimate the cost to continue to provide these services at the 17 intersections in the 2024-25 school year will be \$161,644.

In addition, we suggest that we work together to finalize the draft Contribution Agreement, which will support stable funding and predictable service provision moving forward from year to year.

We are confident that by working together in partnership we can continue to provide safe access to schools by way of municipal streets and roads in the District of Saanich.

Sincerely,

Nicole Duncan

Chair, Board of Education

cc: Board of Education, School District No. 61

Deb Whitten, Superintendent, School District No. 61

Katrina Stride, Secretary-Treasurer, School District No. 61

Jane Massy, President, CUPE 947, School District No. 61

Darren Reed, President, CUPE 382, School District No. 61

Ilda Turcotte, President, Greater Victoria Teachers' Association

Tracy Humphreys, President, Victoria Confederation of Parent Advisory Councils,

School District No. 61

Brenna O'Connor, President, Victoria Principals and Vice-Principals Association,

School District No. 61