

## **Board of Education**

School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria) 556 Boleskine Road, Victoria, BC V8Z 1E8 Phone (250) 475-4106 Fax (250) 475-4112

Chair: Nicole Duncan Vice-Chair: Karin Kwan Trustees: Natalie Baillaut, Angela Carmichael, Mavis David, Derek Gagnon, Emily Mahbobi, Diane McNally, Rob Paynter

Email: educ.minister@gov.bc.ca

14 February 2024

Ministry of Education and Child Care Office of the Minister PO Box 9045 Stn Prov Govt Victoria, BC V8W 9E2

ATTENTION: Honourable Rachna Singh, Minister of Education and Child Care

Dear Minister Singh:

RE: Anti-Racism Action Plan - Diversity, Equity and Inclusion ("DEI") Training

On 29 January 2024, the Greater Victoria Board of Education passed the following motion:

That the Board of Education of School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria) direct the Board Chair to write a letter to the Ministry of Education and Child Care with a request for additional funding for staff to complete DEI training in line with the K-12 Anti-Racism action plan.

We are very appreciative of the leadership demonstrated by the Ministry of Education and Child Care in progressing an Anti-Racism Action Plan aimed at empowering students and educators to identify and take action against racism and discrimination in school. We know that raising awareness and providing appropriate resources will help us to improve the school experience for racialized students, staff and families. Everyone deserves to feel a strong sense of belonging at school.

We understand the importance of helping all staff better understand their role in fostering anti-racist school environments through identify biases and addressing acts of racism or discrimination. To help facilitate this work we would be grateful to receive additional funding to support staff to complete DEI training in line with the K-12 Anti-Racism Action Plan.

Yours sincerely,

Nicole Duncan

Chair, Board of Education

School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria)

cc: Board of Education, School District No. 61
Deb Whitten, Superintendent, School District No. 61
Katrina Stride, Secretary-Treasurer, School District No. 61
Ilda Turcotte, President, GVTA (president@gyta.net)
Darren Reed, President, CUPE 382 (president@cupe382.ca)
Jane Massy, President, CUPE 947 (cupe947@telus.net)
Tracy Humphreys, President, VCPAC (president@vcpac.ca)
Brenna O'Connor, VPVPA Chair (boconnor@sd61.bc.ca)