

The Board of Education of School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria)

Inaugural Board Meeting

Wednesday, November 9, 2022 @ 7:00 p.m. Tolmie Boardroom, 556 Boleskine Road

INAUGURAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Present:

Trustees: Angela Carmichael, Mavis David, Nicole Duncan, Derek Gagnon, Karin Kwan, Emily Mahbobi, Diane McNally

Administration: Deb Whitten, Superintendent of Schools; Harold Caldwell, Deputy Superintendent, Katrina Stride, Acting Secretary-Treasurer; Tom Aerts, Associate Superintendent; Shelly Niemi, Director of Indigenous Education; Lisa McPhail, Communications and Community Engagement Manager

Regrets: Trustee Natalie Baillaut and Rob Paynter

The meeting was called to order at 7:00pm.

1. Territorial Acknowledgement and Welcome

Chief Rob Thomas, Esquimalt Nation delivered the Territorial Acknowledgement and Welcome via Zoom.

Superintendent Deb Whitten thanked the Reynolds Secondary School Jazz Quartet for their performance during the reception prior to the meeting and were presented with gifts of appreciation.

2. Introduction of George Jay Drum Circle

Superintendent Whitten introduced the George Jay Elementary School students' Drum Circle.

3. George Jay Elementary Drum Circle

The students performed a selection of Indigenous music. Superintendent Whitten thanked the students for their performance and were presented with gifts of appreciation.

4. Call to Order

Acting Secretary-Treasurer Katrina Stride called the meeting to order at 7:17pm.

5. Trustee Election Report

Acting Secretary Treasurer Stride reported that local Municipal Elections were held on October 15, 2022 and that there were 30 candidates who ran in the election. The nine Trustees elected to the Board of Education for the term of office to expire in the Fall of 2026 are: Natalie Baillaut, Angela Carmichael, Mavis David, Nicole Duncan, Derek Gagnon, Karin Kwan, Emily Mahbobi, Diane McNally and Rob Paynter.

6. Swearing-In Ceremony - Oath of Office

Acting Secretary-Treasurer Stride introduced City of Victoria Clerk, Curt Kingsley, who administered the Oath of Office to the Trustees in accordance with the *School Act*. The newly elected Trustees made their declaration by affirming the Oath individually and affixing their signatures as required. Trustee Natalie Baillaut and Trustee Rob Paynter made arrangements for their Oaths of Office to be completed within the time period outlined in the *School Act*.

7. Appointment of Scrutineers

Acting Secretary-Treasurer Stride introduced the Scrutineers, Deputy Superintendent Harold Caldwell and Associate Superintendent Tom Aerts.

8. Election of Chair

Acting Secretary-Treasurer Stride called for nominations of Chair of the Board of Education for the term of one year ending in November 2023. Nomination was received for Nicole Duncan, who accepted the nomination, and was declared Chair of the Board of Education by acclamation.

Acting Secretary-Treasurer Stride invited Chair Duncan to preside over the remainder of the meeting.

9. Election of Vice-Chair

Chair Duncan called for nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Board of Education for the term of one year ending November 2023. Nomination was received for Trustee Karin Kwan, who accepted the nomination, and was declared Vice-Chair of the Board of Education by acclamation.

10. Election of the British Columbia Public School Employers' Association Representative

Chair Duncan called for nominations for the British Columbia Public School Employers' Association (BCPSEA) Representative for the term of one year ending November 2023. Nominations were received for Trustees Carmichael, Gagnon and McNally. Trustees Carmichael and Gagnon accepted the nomination, Trustee McNally declined the nomination. A ballot vote was taken and Trustee Carmichael was declared the BCPSEA representative.

11. Election of the British Columbia School Trustees Association Provincial Councilor

Chair Duncan called for nominations for the British Columbia School Trustees Association (BCSTA) Provincial Councilor for the term of one year ending November 2023. Nominations were received for Trustees David, Gagnon and Mahbobi, who accepted the nomination. A ballot vote was taken and Trustee David was declared the BCSTA Provincial Councilor.

12. Motion to Destroy Ballots

It was moved by Trustee McNally and seconded by Trustee Mahbobi:

That the Board of Education of School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria) direct the Superintendent to destroy the ballots.

Motion Carried Unanimously

13. Adjournment

It was moved by Trustee Kwan and seconded by Trustee Mahbobi:

That the meeting be adjourned.

Motion Carried Unanimously

The meeting adjourned at 7:43pm.

Chair	Acting Secretary-Treasurer