

The Board of Education of School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria)

Special Board Meeting

MINUTES

Wednesday, February 23, 2022, 6:00 p.m.

Trustees Present: Ryan Painter, Board Chair, Tom Ferris, Vice-Chair, Nicole Duncan,

Angie Hentze, Elaine Leonard, Jordan Watters, Ann Whiteaker

Trustees Suspended: Diane McNally, Rob Paynter

Administration: Deb Whitten, Interim Superintendent of Schools, Kim Morris,

Secretary-Treasurer, Colin Roberts, Interim Deputy Superintendent, Harold Caldwell, Associate Superintendent, Katrina Stride, Associate Secretary-Treasurer, Chuck Morris, Director, Facilities Services, Andy Canty, Director, Information Technology for Learning, Lisa McPhail, Communications and Community Engagement Manager,

Vicki Hanley, Recorder

A. COMMENCEMENT OF MEETING

The meeting was called to order at 6:01 p.m.

A.1 Acknowledgement of Traditional Territories

Chair Painter recognized and acknowledged the Esquimalt and Songhees Nations, on whose traditional territories, we live, we learn, and we do our work.

A.2 Approval of the Agenda

Moved By Trustee Watters
Seconded By Trustee Leonard

That the February 23, 2022 Special Board meeting agenda be approved.

Motion Carried Unanimously

В. PROPOSED LAND DISPOSAL, LANSDOWNE MIDDLE SCHOOL SOUTH

Chair Painter welcomed everyone to the meeting and outlined the format for the meeting relative to each speaker being provided three minutes to present to Trustees, and the meeting would not include a question and answer period.

B.1 Community Presentations

The following people attended the Special Board meeting to speak to Trustees relative to the proposed partial land disposal at Lansdowne Middle School South Campus:

| 1. | Meralin Young | 16. Pat Walker | | |
|----|-----------------|-------------------------|--|--|
| 2. | Mary Ann Watson | 17. Dr. Christine Jones | | |
| 3. | Leigh Urquhart | 18. Susan Haddon | | |
| 4. | Gerald Harris | 19. Chris Munson | | |
| 5. | Lisa Timmons | 20. Mike Graeme | | |
| 6. | Derek Shrubsole | 21. Riga Godron | | |

7. Isabel Cordua-von Specht 22. Carolyn Knight

8. Jordan Reichert 23. Kathrynn Foster 9. Soren Henrich 24. Jane Devonshire 10. Marguerite Rowe 25. Dr. Janice Mason 11. Jane Evans 26. Mari Imahori 12. Kevin Harter 27. Rob Vanzella

13. Esther Callo 28. Franka Cordua-von Specht

14. Deanna Pfeifer 29. Ian Graeme 15. Jonathan Faerber 30. Susan Roberts

Chair Painter thanked all presenters for attending and providing Trustees with their input and advised that the third and final reading will be debated and voted on at the February 28, 2022 Board of Education meeting.

C. **ADJOURNMENT**

The meeting adjourned at 8:18 p.m.

Moved By Trustee Leonard

| Motion Carried Unanimously |
|----------------------------|
| Secretary-Treasurer |
| |