

# The Board of Education of School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria) November 5, 2018 Inaugural Board Meeting – Tolmie Boardroom, 556 Boleskine Road

#### **INAUGURAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES**

Present:

Trustees: Nicole Duncan, Tom Ferris, Angie Hentze, Elaine Leonard, Diane McNally, Ryan Painter, Rob Paynter, Jordan Watters, Ann Whiteaker

Administration: Shelley Green, Superintendent of Schools, Deb Whitten, Deputy Superintendent, Mark Walsh, Secretary-Treasurer, Katrina Stride, Associate Secretary-Treasurer, Greg Kitchen, Associate Superintendent, Colin Roberts, Associate Superintendent, Lisa McPhail, Communications Officer

The meeting was called to order at 7:02 p.m.

Superintendent Green recognized and acknowledged the Esquimalt and Songhees Nations, on whose traditional territories, we live, we learn, and we do our work.

#### 1. Welcome

Superintendent Green thanked the Mt. Douglas strings quintet and strings teacher for attending the Inaugural meeting and playing for everyone.

Superintendent Green welcomed everyone to the meeting and introduced and welcomed Mr. Garry Sam.

# 2. Traditional Greeting

Mr. Garry Sam, a member of the Songhees Nation and currently a Songhees Nation Education Council Member, provided a traditional Aboriginal greeting.

Superintendent Green thanked Mr. Sam for providing a traditional greeting.

## 3. Call to Order

Secretary-Treasurer Walsh called the meeting to order.

#### 4. Trustee Election Report

Secretary-Treasurer Walsh reported that local Municipal Elections were held on October 20, 2018 and twelve candidates ran for school trustee within our District. The nine Trustees elected to the Board of Education for the term of office to expire in the Fall of 2022 are Nicole Duncan, Tom Ferris, Angie Hentze, Elaine Leonard, Diane McNally, Ryan Painter, Rob Paynter, Jordan Watters and Ann Whiteaker.

## 5. Swearing-In Ceremony - Oath of Office

Secretary-Treasurer Walsh introduced the Honorable Judge Lisa Mrozinski, who administered the Oath of Office to Trustees in accordance with the *School Act*. The newly elected Trustees made their declaration by affirming the Oath individually and affixing their signatures as required.

## 6. Election of Chair

Secretary-Treasurer Walsh called for nominations for Chair of the Board of Education for the term of one year ending in November 2019. Nominations were received for Tom Ferris, Diane McNally and Jordan Watters. Trustees Ferris, McNally and Watters accepted the nomination. A ballot vote was taken and Trustee Watters was declared the Chair of the Board of Education.

Secretary-Treasurer Walsh invited Chair Watters to preside over the remainder of the meeting.

Chair Watters thanked her fellow Trustees for their confidence to vote her as Board Chair, adding that she is looking forward to working with all Trustees, staff, educational partners and our community to ensure that each of our students has an opportunity to reach their full potential.

#### 7. Election of Vice Chair

Chair Watters called for nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Board of Education for the term of one year ending November 2019. Nominations were received for Trustees Ferris, McNally, Paynter and Whiteaker. Trustees Ferris, McNally, Paynter and Whiteaker accepted the nomination. A ballot vote was taken and Trustee McNally was declared the Vice-Chair of the Board of Education.

# 8. Election of the British Columbia Public School Employers' Association Representative

Chair Watters called for nominations for the British Columbia Public School Employers' Association (BCPSEA) representative for the term of one year ending November 2019. Nominations were received for Trustees Painter, Paynter and Whiteaker. Trustees Painter and Paynter accepted the nomination. Trustee Whiteaker declined the nomination. A ballot vote was taken and Trustee Paynter was declared the BCPSEA representative.

## 9. Election of the British Columbia School Trustees Association Provincial Councillor

Chair Watters called for nominations for the British Columbia School Trustees Association (BCSTA) Provincial Councillor for the term of one year ending November 2019. Nominations were received for Trustees Duncan, Painter and Whiteaker. Trustees Duncan and Painter accepted the nomination. Trustee Whiteaker declined the nomination. A ballot was taken and Trustee Duncan was declared the BCSTA Provincial Councillor.

## 10. Appointment of the Operations Policy and Planning Committee Members / Election of Chair

Chair Watters presented the following motions:

It was moved by Trustee Watters and seconded:

That the Board of Education of School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria) assign Trustees Hentze, Leonard, Paynter and Whiteaker as members of the Operations Policy and Planning Committee and Trustees Duncan, Ferris, McNally and Painter as members of the Education Policy and Directions Committee based on their expressed interest in the respective committees.

**Motion Carried Unanimously** 

It was moved by Trustee Watters and seconded:

That the Board of Education of School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria) conduct a ballot election to determine the Chairs of the Operations Policy and Planning Committee and the Education Policy and Directions Committee.

**Motion Carried Unanimously** 

Nominations were received for Trustees Leonard, Paynter and Whiteaker for the position of Chair of the Operations Policy and Planning Committee. Trustees Leonard and Paynter accepted the nomination. Trustee Whiteaker declined the nomination. A ballot vote was taken and Trustee Paynter was declared Chair of the Operations Policy and Planning Committee.

# 11. Appointment of the Education Policy and Directions Committee Members / Election of Chair

Nominations were received for Trustees Duncan, Ferris and Painter for the position of Chair of the Education Policy and Directions Committee. Trustees Duncan and Painter accepted the nomination. Trustee Ferris declined the nomination. A ballot vote was taken and Trustee Duncan was declared Chair of the Education Policy and Directions Committee.

	Chair of the Education Policy and Directions Committ	ee.
12.	Motion to Destroy Ballots	
	It was moved by Trustee Painter and seconded:	
	That the ballots be destroyed.	Motion Carried Unanimously
13.	Adjournment	
	It was moved by Trustee Ferris and seconded:	
	That the meeting be adjourned.	Motion Carried
	The meeting adjourned at 8:08 p.m.	
	CERTIFIED CORF	RECT
Chair		Secretary-Treasurer