

BOARD OF EDUCATION

Chair: Edith Loring-Kuhanga Vice-Chair: Tom Ferris Trustees: Elaine Leonard, Diane McNally, Deborah Nohr, Peg Orcherton Rob Paynter, Jordan Watters, Ann Whiteaker

SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 61 (GREATER VICTORIA) 556 BOLESKINE ROAD, VICTORIA, BC V8Z 1E8 PHONE (250) 475-4106 FAX (250) 475-4112

April 4, 2018

The Honourable John Horgan Officer of the Premier PO Box 9041, STN PROV GOVT Victoria, B.C. V8W 9E1 via email: premier@gov.bc.ca

The Honourable Rob Fleming Minister of Education PO Box 9045, STN PROV GOVT Victoria, B.C. V8W 9E2 via email: educ.minister@gov.bc.ca

Dear Premier Horgan and Minister Fleming:

Recently, our Board passed the following motion:

That the Board of Education of School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria) write to the Premier and Minister of Education requesting that the BC Transit Act be amended to include the appointment of a trustee of one of the School Districts falling within the Capital Regional District as a member of the regional transit commission for the greater Victoria metropolitan area.

The rationale for this motion was that the students of the Greater Victoria region provide a large percentage of ridership, particularly in School District No. 61. Decisions by BC Transit on fares and schedules have immediate and direct impacts on our students and I would expect decisions by the Board on school openings, school boundaries, programs of choice and the like have direct impacts on BC Transit.

We do recognize that we have the ability to make representations to the BC Transit and our staff do communicate, we feel that representation will only serve to benefit the students of our region as well as the transportation planning future as we continue to grow. We also understand that such an appointment would take a minor legislative amendment.

We thank you for your consideration.

Yours truly,

Edith Loring-Kuhanga Board Chair

Cc Board of Education Piet Langstraat, Superintendent of Schools Mark Walsh, Secretary-Treasurer Honorable ClaireTrevena, Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure Catherine Holt, Chair, BC Transit BC School Boards, c/o BCSTA