

The Board of Education of School District No. 61 (Greater Victoria) December 5, 2011 Inaugural Board Meeting – Tolmie Boardroom, 556 Boleskine Road

INAUGURAL BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Present:

Trustees: Catherine Alpha, Tom Ferris, Bev Horsman, Elaine Leonard, Edith Loring-Kuhanga, Michael McEvoy, Diane McNally, Deborah Nohr, Peg Orcherton,

Administration: John Gaiptman, Superintendent of Schools, George Ambeault, Secretary-Treasurer, Sherri Bell, Associate Superintendent, Deborah Courville, Associate Superintendent, Pat Duncan, Associate Superintendent, Kyle Cormier, Director of Human Resources, Seamus Howley, Director of Facilities, Vicki Hanley, Recording Secretary

1. Opening and Blessing

Mr. Butch Dick gave the opening and blessing.

2. Call to Order

George Ambeault, Secretary-Treasurer, called the meeting to order at 7:18 p.m.

3. Trustee Election Report

The Secretary-Treasurer reported that the following Trustees were elected to the Board of Education, for the term of office to expire December, 2014 as a result of an election held on November 19, 2011: Catherine Alpha, Tom Ferris, Bev Horsman, Elaine Leonard, Edith Loring-Kuhanga, Michael McEvoy, Diane McNally, Deborah Nohr and Peg Orcherton.

4. Oath of Office and Oath of Allegiance

The Honourable Mr. Justice J. Michael Hubbard administered the Oath of Office to Trustees in accordance with the *School Act*. The newly elected Trustees made their declaration by reciting the oath individually and affixing their signatures as required.

5. Election of Chair

The Secretary-Treasurer called for nominations for Chair of the Board of Education for the term to November 30, 2012. Nominations were received for Trustee Orcherton. Trustee Orcherton was declared Chair of the Board of Education by acclamation.

Mr. Ambeault invited Trustee Orcherton to preside over the remainder of the meeting.

Chair Orcherton thanked outgoing Chair Ferris for the past three years of leadership and dedication to the children of the district.

Chair Orcherton congratulated all Trustees on being elected to the Board of Education.

6. Election of Vice Chair

Chair Orcherton called for nominations for the Vice-Chair of the Board of Education for the term to November 30, 2012. Nominations were received for Trustees Horsman, Nohr and Loring-Kuhanga. Trustee Horsman accepted the nomination and Trustees Nohr and Loring-Kuhanga declined. Trustee Horsman was declared Vice-Chair of the Board of Education by acclamation.

- 7. Election of the British Columbia Public School Employers' Association Representative Chair Orcherton called for nominations for the British Columbia Public School Employers' Association (BCPSEA) representative for the term to November 30, 2012. Nominations were received for Trustees Loring-Kuhanga, Nohr and McNally. Trustees Loring-Kuhanga and Nohr declined the nomination and Trustee McNally accepted. Trustee McNally was declared the BCPSEA representative by acclamation.
- 8. Election of the British Columbia School Trustees Association Provincial Councillor Chair Orcherton called for nominations for the British Columbia School Trustees Association (BCSTA) Provincial Councillor for the term to November 30, 2012. Nominations were received for Trustees Nohr and Horsman. Trustees Nohr and Horsman accepted the nomination. A ballot vote was taken and Trustee Horsman was declared the BCSTA Provincial Councillor.
- 9. Election of the Vancouver Island Labour Relations Association Representative Chair Orcherton called for nominations for the Vancouver Island Labour Relations Association (VILRA) representative for the term to November 30, 2012. Nominations were received for Trustees Ferris, Nohr, and McNally. Trustees Ferris and Nohr accepted the nomination and Trustee McNally declined. A ballot vote was taken and Trustee Ferris was declared the VILRA representative.
- **10.** Appointment of the Operations, Policy and Planning Committee Members / Election of Chair Chair Orcherton appointed Trustees Leonard, Ferris, Nohr and McNally to the Operations, Policy and Planning Committee for the term to November 30, 2012. The Committee elected Trustee Leonard to serve as Chair.
- 11. Appointment of the Education Policy Development Committee Members / Election of Chair Chair Orcherton appointed Trustees Horsman, McEvoy, Alpha and Loring-Kuhanga to the Education Policy Development Committee for the term to November 30, 2012. The Committee elected Trustee Alpha to serve as Chair.

12. Motion to Destroy Ballots

It was moved and seconded That the ballots be destroyed.

Motion Carried

13. Trustee Assignment to School Families

This item was postponed until Chair Orcherton can make a more informed decision.

14. Adjournment

It was moved and seconded

That the meeting be adjourned.

Motion Carried

The meeting adjourned at 7:56 p.m.

CERTIFIED CORRECT

Secretary-Treasurer

Chairperson